North Sudan favors a unified Sudan primarily to exploit the South’s rich oil reserves for financial gain. Oil has been the primary driving force for Sudan’s GDP growth since the U.S. implemented comprehensive sanctions on Sudan in the 1990s due to its support for terrorism. Without these oil-rich southern regions, the Northern economy may very well collapse.

Current polls (at the time this committee begins; December, 2009) predict that the South will vote to secede. This does not look good for the North. In order to maintain a unified Sudan, the North may have to stop the referendum before it happens, although this will most definitely lead to even more fighting between North and South.

Committee Members

Omar Al-Bashir, current President of Sudan, will act as chair.

  • Ali Mahmoud Abdul-Rasool, Minister of Finance and National Economy
  • Eman Al-Din Adawi, Military Chief of General Staff
  • Luka Biong, Minister of Council of Ministers 
  • Dak Dob Bishok, Minister of Labor
  • Lual Achul Deng, Minister of Petroleum
  • Mohammed Bushra Dousa, Minister of Justice 
  • Ibrahim Mahmoud Hamed, Minister of Interior
  • Abdulrahim Mohammed Hussein, Minister of Defense
  • Abdul-Bagi Al-Jailani, Minister of Minerals
  • Awad Ahmed Al-Jaz, Minister of Commerce and Industry
  • Ali Ahmed Karti, businessman
  • Abdul Al-Keir, Head of the Airforce
  • Sadiq Al-Mahdi, opposition leader
  • Kamal Mohamed Obeid, Minister of information
  • Abdul-Wahab Mohamed Osman, Minister of Roads and Bridges
  • Chol Ram Pang, Minister of Transportation
  • Hassan Saleh, Minister of Presidency Affairs
  • Mohammed Al-Tadabi, Head of the Army 
  • Ahmed Ibrahim El-Tahir, Speaker of the National Assembly
  • Elias Nyamlel Wakoson, foreign trade expert